DNR News** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

Oxner joins S.C. Natural Resources Board July 2, 2018

New SCDNR Board Member James Carlisle Oxner III

New SCDNR Board Member James Carlisle Oxner III

James Carlisle Oxner III has been appointed by Gov. Henry McMaster to represent South Carolina's Fifth Congressional District on the seven-member South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Board. Oxner was chosen by Gov. McMaster and confirmed by the state Senate in May. His term begins July 1, 2018.

“We are very fortunate in that the Department of Natural Resources has a long history of outstanding board members who have worked hard to help this agency fulfill its mission of being the primary steward of South Carolina’s incredible – and incredibly valuable – natural resources,” said current SCDNR Board Chairman Norman Pulliam. “We appreciate the contributions made by previous members and look forward to working with our newest gubernatorial appointees.”

Oxner, 54, currently serves as President and Chief Executive Officer of Arthur State Bank and Arthur Financial Corporation in Union, South Carolina. He also serves on the bank’s board of directors. He has been employed with Arthur State Bank since 1987. Oxner graduated from the University of South Carolina with a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration, with majors in economics, real estate and insurance. He has also attended the Graduate School of Banking at Louisiana State University.

As a resident of Union County, Oxner has served on numerous local boards, including twenty years spent with the Union County Development Board during which time he held the position of Chairperson multiple times. Presently, Oxner is Chairman of the Union County Planning Commission. In 1993, Governor Carroll A. Campbell, Jr. named Oxner a South Carolina Ambassador for Economic Development. In 2012, he received the prestigious honor of the South Carolina Order of the Silver Crescent from Governor Nikki Haley for his many years of community activism and volunteerism in Union County. Oxner and his wife, Kristin, reside in the town of Union, where they are members of the Episcopal Church of the Nativity.

“Maintaining our state’s diverse natural resources for the benefit of current and future generations is an incredibly important responsibility,” said SCDNR Director Alvin Taylor. “Our newest members’ backgrounds, professional skills and perspective will make them a valuable addition to our Board as we seek to fulfill that mission going forward.”

The governor appoints the members and chairman of the SCDNR Board, the policy-making body for the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources, with confirmation by the state Senate. One member is chosen to represent each of South Carolina's seven congressional districts. The Board meets on a monthly basis to discuss and set policies for the agency, which is composed of five divisions: Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, Marine Resources, Law Enforcement, Division of Administration, and Land, Water and Conservation. For more information about the Department of Natural Resources Board, including dates and times for upcoming meetings, visit https://www.dnr.sc.gov/admin/board.html.

DNR Media Contacts

Area Personnel Number
Coastal David Lucas 843-610-0096
Marine Erin Weeks 843-953-9845
Midlands Kaley Nevin 803-917-0398
Upstate Greg Lucas 864-380-5201

After Hours Radio Room - 803-955-4000

More News