#### South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Marine Resources Division

# **Summary of Public Fishing Pier Laws**

2024-2025

This document should be kept on all licensed public piers as a legal reference, not to supersede knowledge of the pertinent laws. Complete laws can be found at www.scstatehouse.gov.

#### License Requirements: [Section 50-9-560 (B)]

Pier less than or equal to 100 feet \$150.00 Pier greater than 100 feet \$350.00

#### **Definitions:**

"Public Fishing Pier" means piers open to the public which charge a fee to fish. [Section 50-5-15 (42)]

### Recreational saltwater fishing licenses; fees.

For the privilege of operating a public fishing pier in the salt waters of this state, the owner or operator must purchase an annual saltwater public fishing pier license for:

- (1) \$150 for a pier one hundred feet or less in total length
- (2) \$350 for a pier greater than one hundred feet in total length

[Section 50-9-560 (B)]

#### Exemptions from recreational saltwater fishing license requirements.

Fishermen fishing from a licensed public fishing pier are exempt from purchasing a saltwater recreational fishing license. [Section 50-9-715 (1)]

#### Public pier logs; penalties.

Public fishing piers shall maintain a log of the number of persons fishing from that structure each day. The logs must be submitted to the department monthly by the tenth day of the following month as prescribed or approved by the department. An owner or operator who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not less than twenty-five dollars nor more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more than thirty days and a subsequent license must not be issued until the requirements of this subsection are met. [Section 50-5-1915 (B)]

\* If you no longer need your license please be sure to surrender it to the Commercial License office in Charleston (PO Box 12559 Charleston, SC 29422). If you have questions about surrendering your license please call (843)953-9311.

If you are convicted for an offense, there may be points assessed against your license or your privileges may be suspended if the statute requires it. Saltwater points are assessed in two categories: Recreational and Commercial. Upon an accumulation of eighteen (18) or more points in a category, the privileges of that category will be suspended for one year. While under Recreational Suspension, a person found guilty of a commercial saltwater violation will have all saltwater privileges suspended for one year. While under Commercial Suspension, a person found guilty of a recreational violation will

have all saltwater privileges suspended for one year. Points and violations can be found in the SC DNR Rules and Regulations book or SC Code of Laws 50-5-2500(A).

If your license/ permit is suspended or revoked, you are entitled to an administrative appeal pursuant to the South Carolina Administrative Procedures Act. The review must be scheduled by the Administrative Law Court in accordance with the division's procedural rules. The scope of the hearing is limited to the issues set out by the Administrative Procedures Act and the division's procedural rules. Appeals must be filed and served within 30 days of suspension/ revocation notice with the Clerk of Court of Administrative Law Court 1205 Pendleton Street Suite 224 Columbia, SC 29201, telephone (803)734-0660.

## **Public Fishing Pier Logs**

#### **South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Reporting Requirements:**

- 1) All licensed public fishing piers must submit a report of the number of people fishing on that pier daily to the Marine Resources Division's Fisheries Statistics Section, P.O. Box 12559, Charleston, SC 29422-2559 on a MONTHLY basis.
- 2) Reports must be received by the 10th of the following month regardless of whether or not people fished off of the pier. If no people fished off of the pier during the month, a report must be submitted with "No Fishermen For The Month Of (month)" printed on the form.
- 3) Reports should be complete and accurate. This data is utilized by the Department and the National Marine Fisheries Service in the management of the State's marine resources.
- 4) Public Fishing Pier logbooks can be picked up from Room 215 in the Administrative Building at the Marine Resources Center on James Island, or can be mailed to permit holders. For further information or questions, please call the Fisheries Statistics Program at 843-953-9313.