DNR Media Contacts:
Statewide - Greg Lucas (864) 380-5201
Charleston - Erin Weeks (843) 953-9845
After Hours Radio Room - (803) 955-4000

DNR News** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

June 23, 2016DNR Board gets new member, officers

The Department of Natural Resources Board, the policy-making body for the S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR), recently confirmed a new chairman and vice-chairman, and welcomed a new board member to its ranks.

Gov. Nikki Haley appointed Charleston restaurant owner Cary L. Chastain, who represents South Carolina's Sixth Congressional District, to a one-year term as Board Chairman beginning July 1, 2016. Chastain graduated from Valdosta State University in 1992 with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Communications with emphasis in Management and Marketing. Chastain's re-appointment to a second term as a DNR board member was confirmed by the S.C. Senate on June 2.

Also confirmed by the S.C. Senate in June was DNR Board newcomer and Myrtle Beach businessman Keith C. Hinson, owner and founder of Waccamaw Land % Timber Company. Hinson attended The Citadel, Coastal Carolina University, and the University of South Carolina. He served as a member of the Board of Directors of Carolina First Bank for 15 years, and has also served as chairman of the Board of Visitors of Coastal Carolina University's Wall School of Business. Hinson will represent the Seventh Congressional District, replacing Randy Lowe of Hartsville. Lowe did not seek reappointment to the board.

The DNR board voted at its June 16 meeting to appoint long-serving board member Norman F. Pulliam as vice chairman. Pulliam, who resides in Spartanburg, represents the Fourth Congressional District. Pulliam is a graduate of Clemson University and the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration. Mr. Pulliam is Chairman Emeritus of the Pulliam Investment Company and serves on the boards of several businesses and nonprofit organizations.

The governor appoints the chairman of the DNR board with Senate confirmation. One member is chosen to represent each of South Carolina's seven congressional districts. The vice chairman is chosen by a vote of the board members. The previous chairman, D. Glenn McFadden of Fort Lawn, served two one-year terms and will continue to represent the Fifth Congressional District.

For more information about the Department of Natural Resources Board, including dates and times for upcoming meeting, minutes of previous meeting, and advisory committees, visit https://www.dnr.sc.gov/admin/board.html. The next meeting take place on Wednesday, July 20, 2016, at the Environmental Learning Center at Edisto Island State Park: 8377 State Cabin Rd., Edisto Island, S.C. Members of the public are welcome to attend.

More News