Scenic Rivers - Water Basins

Watersheds, the land areas drained by rivers, are sometimes lumped into larger areas called river basins. The map (below) shows four river basins of South Carolina - the Savannah, Santee, Pee Dee and the ACE (Ashley-Cooper, Combahee-Coosawhatchie, and Edisto). Only the ACE basin lies completely within South Carolina. The others drain parts of North Carolina and Georgia.

The Major Stream Basins map above is available in the Adobe PDF file format. Adobe® Reader® is required to open these files and is available as a free download from the Adobe® Web site.