** Archived Article - please check for current information. **
June 17, 2014
Renew your state hunting and fishing license on June 18, 2014
License Sales for 2014-2015 hunting and fishing licenses begin on June 18, 2014. You can buy your South Carolina hunting and fishing licenses multiple ways. Licenses are available in person at any of the four regional S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) offices or by visiting one of the 500 license vendors across the state. Licenses are also available 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling 1-866-714-3611 or by visiting the DNR website at www.dnr.sc.gov/purchase. Having your state issued identification ready and a current SC hunting/fishing license that displays your customer identification number will speed your purchase.
Residents and nonresidents age 16 and older must purchase the required licenses to hunt and fish in South Carolina. Persons born after June 30, 1979, must have successfully completed a hunter education course prior to obtain a hunting license. Find a course near your or complete hunter education online.
Hunting license applicants who do not have a hunter education certification may use a onetime exemption and apply for an annual Apprentice Hunting License. The apprentice hunter must be accompanied by a SC licensed hunter who is not licensed as an apprentice hunter, is at least 21 years of age, has not been convicted of a hunting or hunter education violation or received deferred adjudication of the same, and stays within a distance that enables uninterrupted, unaided, visual and oral communication with the apprentice hunter and provides adequate direction to the apprentice.
South Carolina hunters and anglers remain the state's top conservationists. Through your purchase of a state recreational hunting and fishing license, combined with excise tax collected on hunting and fishing gear, hunters and anglers contribute funding to South Carolina's wildlife and sportfish restoration projects. This includes wildlife management, habitat management, research and education research, education and boating access. Without these dollars, fish and wildlife conservation projects would be very limited in South Carolina.
- Youth fishing event to be held June 7 in Horry County
- Feed summer hummingbirds for entertainment, beauty
- DNR Courtesy boat inspections set during Memorial Day weekend
- DNR survey invites public input to management plan for Pee Dee Scenic Rivers
- SC Envirothon team competition announces 2014 winners
- Increased protection for seabirds at Deveaux Bank Seabird Sanctuary
- Oyster season closes May 15, clam season to close May 31
- Bird Cam on Crab Bank allows public to view seabird nesting season
- Statewide deer harvest increases slightly in 2013
- New Lake Warren fishing pier ceremony on May 12 in Hampton County
- 2014 public alligator hunting, special WMA season applications available online
- Laws are strict on taking wild turkey eggs and releasing pen-raised turkeys
- Six miles Of Lake Wateree waterfront protected
- Feeding, watering manatees is illegal
- DNR hosts series of youth fishing rodeos/family fishing clinics around the state
- Freshwater fishing trends
- Saltwater fishing trends
- S.C. weekly tidetable
- DNR video
- Archived news releases