DNR Media Contacts:
Columbia - Brett Witt (803) 667-0696
Clemson - Greg Lucas (864) 380-5201
Charleston - (803) 667-0696
After Hours Radio Room - (803) 955-4000

DNR News

** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

Nov. 22, 2011

Dec. 3 designated youth waterfowl day

South Carolina’s waterfowl hunters will have an excellent opportunity to introduce the next generation of hunters to the sport of waterfowling this season. Dec. 3 has been designated as State Youth Day in South Carolina.

Only hunters 17 years of age or younger may hunt waterfowl (ducks and geese) on this day. The youth(s) must be accompanied by an adult of at least 21 years of age. The adult is not allowed to carry a gun or hunt, but must be properly licensed, including state and federal duck stamps. Youth who are 16 and 17 years of age who hunt on this day are not required to be licensed or have a state waterfowl stamp, but must possess a Federal Waterfowl Stamp. The regular duck season limits apply.

Feb. 4-5, 2012 are Federal Youth Days. Only hunters 15 years of age or younger may hunt waterfowl (ducks and geese) on these days. The youth(s) must be accompanied by an adult of at least 18 years of age. The adult is not allowed to carry a gun or hunt, and does not have to be licensed. The regular duck season limits apply.

Shooting hours for late season duck hunting are uniform statewide. Hunters should take notice that DNR law enforcement officers will pay special attention to "late shooting violations" throughout South Carolina. Check local newspapers for sunrise and sunset times. Any South Carolina hunter born after June 30, 1979, must complete an approved hunter education course to purchase a hunting license.

Federally approved nontoxic shot (such as steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron or tungsten-polymer) is required for all waterfowl hunting. The possession of lead shot is prohibited for all waterfowl hunting statewide.


More News

Follow DNR on the Web:

DNR on FacebookDNR on TwitterDNR on Youtube