DNR Media Contacts:
Statewide - Greg Lucas (864) 380-5201
Charleston - Erin Weeks (843) 953-9845
After Hours Radio Room - (803) 955-4000

DNR News

** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

July 28, 2011

DNR honors former, current Board members

The S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) recently recognized the service of current and former board members during a dinner held in their honor at the Millaree Hunt Club in Hopkins on July 19.

The event, sponsored by the Harry Hampton Memorial Wildlife Fund, was also an opportunity to introduce new board members as well as recognize and thank former board members for their dedication to the natural resources of South Carolina. Former Board members in attendance were past Board Chairmen Mike McShane and Marion Burnside along with former Board members Karen Floyd, Mike Campbell and Stephen Davis.

"Current and former board members of the DNR Board are a driving force in South Carolina in preserving our state's natural heritage," said agency director John Frampton. "Conservation successes require teamwork and the accomplishments of the Board reflect their dedicated efforts."

Gov. Nikki Haley recently appointed re-confirmed board member Caroline C. Rhodes of Charleston as the new chairman. Rhodes represents the 1st Congressional District. Cary L. Chastain of Charleston was confirmed as the new Member at Large. Michael E. "Mike" Hutchins of Lexington was confirmed as the board member representing the 2nd Congressional District. Larry L. Yonce of Johnston was confirmed as a board member representing the 3rd Congressional District. Robert R. "Randy" Lowe of Hartsville was confirmed as a board member representing the 5th Congressional District. Norman F. Pulliam of Spartanburg representing the 4th Congressional District and John P. Evans of Orangeburg representing the 6th Congressional District maintained their seats on the board.

The Natural Resources Board meets monthly and sets policy for the S.C. Department of Natural Resources. The DNR is composed of five divisions: Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, Land, Water and Conservation, Law Enforcement, Outreach and Support Services and the Marine Resources Division, based in Charleston.

More News

Follow DNR on the Web:

DNR on FacebookDNR on TwitterDNR on Youtube