New law brings changes to bear hunting in Upstate
The South Carolina General Assembly recently passed a new law that affects black bear hunting in the Upstate, and the law will bring some changes that hunters will need to know before the bear season begins in October.
A two-week black bear season is held only in Game Zone 1, which consists of the northern sections of Greenville, Oconee, and Pickens counties. Still hunt season for bear is Oct. 17-23, and party dog season is Oct. 24-30.
One of the main changes in the bear hunting law is the requirement that all persons harvesting bears in South Carolina during both the still and party dog seasons must possess a bear tag and must tag the animal before moving it from the point of kill, according to Richard Morton, S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) wildlife biologist based in Clemson. This tag will cost $25 for residents and $100 for non-residents and will be issued in the name of the individual hunter. Youth under the age of 16 can obtain tags at no charge. Bear tags will be available online, by mail and at DNR regional offices. The revenue generated from these bear tags will go to bear research and management and to administer the tag system.
Another change brought about by the new law is that during the party dog hunt, the limit was raised to five bears per party per season. All persons wishing to register for the party hunt must register by Sept.1 each year and must provide a valid hunting license number. "It will be more important than ever that hunters get their application in on time and that they be accurate," Morton said. "The DNR will not substitute members of a party after Sept. 1."
The application for party dog hunts is (Pdf file) available online.
Other changes brought about by the new law include:
Hunters who have additional questions about the new bear law are urged to contact their nearest DNR enforcement officer or wildlife biologist. The new bear hunting law can be viewed online.