June 25, 2010
General Assembly passes three year hunting, fishing license
The South Carolina General Assembly recently passed a new law that allows purchase of several new types of three year hunting and fishing licenses. See the upcoming 2010-2011 Rules and Regulations for more information.
The new licenses include:
- 3 year resident Hunting License: $36
- 3 year resident Big Game Permit: $18
- 3 year resident Wildlife Management Area (WMA) Permit: $91.50
- 3 year resident Combination License (Hunting, Big Game, Freshwater): $75
- 3 year resident Sportsman's License (Hunting, Big Game, WMA Permit, Freshwater): $150
- 3 year resident Freshwater Fishing License: $30
- 3 year resident Saltwater Fishing License: $30
- 3 year non-resident Freshwater Fishing License: $105
- 3 year non-resident Saltwater Fishing License: $105
- To encourage new resident and non-resident hunters, anyone over the age of 16 who does not have a hunter education certificate and without previous hunting violations may purchase a onetime Apprentice hunting license for one year which waives Hunter Education requirements. See the upcoming 2010-2011 Rules and Regulations for other requirements to use this license. Fees are equivalent to the annual state hunting license.
- Resident lifetime combination license holders may add a lifetime Migratory Waterfowl Permit (State Duck Stamp), at any S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) office. Fees are based on the applicants age.
Three year licenses sold during the 2010-2011 license year will expire on June 30, 2013.
All other hunting and fishing license prices remain the same for the upcoming 2010-2011 season. DNR offers inexpensive licenses for Senior South Carolina residents. South Carolina residents born before July 1, 1940, are eligible for the Gratis Hunting and Fishing license at no cost. South Carolina residents born after July 1, 1940, who are 64 years of age, are eligible for the $9 Senior License.
You can buy your South Carolina hunting and fishing licenses multiple ways:
- At DNR offices:
- Visit one of the 450 license agents across the state;
- By calling 1-866-714-3611 (available 24 hours a day, seven days a week);
- Purchase your license online.
South Carolina's natural resources are essential for economic development and contribute nearly $30 billion and 230,000 jobs to the state's economy. Find out why Life's Better Outdoors.