** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

October 16, 2009

Drought declaration removed for 12 S.C. counties

Another round of soaking rain this week (Oct. 12-Oct. 16) led the S. C. Department of Natural Resources to downgrade the incipient declaration to no drought status for 12 Piedmont and Central Savannah counties.  The state agency members of the Drought Response Committee voted on Oct. 16 to remove Greenville, Spartanburg, Cherokee, Union, Laurens, Newberry, Anderson, Abbeville, Greenwood, McCormick, Edgefield and Saluda counties from any Drought mapdrought status.
The committee also decided the rainfall was not sufficient to remove the declaration for the Catawba Wateree Basin (York, Chester, Fairfield, Lancaster, and Kershaw) and several counties in the upper part of the Pee Dee (Chesterfield, Marlboro, and Dillon). 
Darlington County was added to the list of counties in incipient drought.
According to Hope Mizzell, S.C. State Climatologist, the counties maintained at incipient received beneficial rain this week, but not enough to shift several key drought indices out of drought.  Contact South Carolina State Climatologist Hope Mizzell in Columbia at (803) 734-9568 or e-mail at mizzellh@dnr.sc.gov for more information. Find out more about drought at the State Climatology Office.

30-Day (Sept. 16-Oct. 15) rainfall totals for counties removed from drought by monitoring station:

30-Day (Sept. 16-Oct. 15) rainfall totals for counties maintained in incipient by monitoring station:
(Including Darlington County which was upgraded to incipient) 

South Carolina's natural resources are essential for economic development and contribute nearly $30 billion and 230,000 jobs to the state's economy. Find out why Life's Better Outdoors.

More News