** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

September 5, 2008

Drought Response Committee to meet Sept. 16 in Greenville

The S.C. Department of Natural Resources will convene the South Carolina Drought Response Committee 10 a.m. Tuesday, Sept. 16 in the Council Chambers of the Greenville County Council Building at 301 University Ridge in Greenville.

The purpose of the drought meeting is to evaluate the drought status statewide. The committee will review climatic data, streamflow and lake level data, and drought impacts. Local response to the on-going drought will also be reviewed to determine if additional actions are needed to insure sustainable water supplies.

During the Aug. 5 meeting, the S.C. Drought Response Committee moved nine more upstate counties into the extreme drought category: Anderson, Abbeville, McCormick, Edgefield, Saluda, Greenwood, Laurens, Newberry and Union. These counties joined five other counties that were declared in extreme drought on June 30: Cherokee, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens and Spartanburg. Two coastal counties that have seen abundant rainfall in recent weeks, Charleston and Georgetown, were removed by the committee Aug. 5 from being in a drought category altogether.

For more information about drought, visit the Office of State Climatology or contact State Climatologist Hope Mizzell in Columbia at (803) 734-9568 or e-mail at mizzellh@dnr.sc.gov.

DNR protects and manages South Carolina's natural resources by making wise and balanced decisions for the benefit of the state's natural resources and its people.

More News