** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

#07-58 February 26, 2007

DNR biologist receives Bayless Fisheries Award

Scott Meister, S.C. Department of Natural Resources biologist and Clean Vessel Act program coordinator, was awarded the 2006 Jack Bayless Award.

Meister received the award, granted annually by the South Carolina Chapter of American FisheriesSociety, at the joint meeting with the South Carolina Fishery Worker’s Association in January for his presentation earlier in 2006, “Observations of Deep Sea Reef Fishes Using Underwater Video.” Meister’s research enabled him to use underwater technology to film reef fish, and one of the more notable observations he recorded was that of a frill shark, alive in its natural environment.

See the video>>>

The American Fisheries Society is the oldest and largest professional society representing fisheries scientists. The organization’s mission is to improve the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic ecosystems by advancing fisheries and aquatic science and promoting the development of fisheries professionals. The South Carolina chapter members include professionals from state and federal agencies, private industry, educational institutions and non-profit organizations.

The South Carolina Fishery Worker’s Association was organized in 1976 as a non-profit organizationLink to video that promotes the exchange of ideas between freshwater and saltwater biologists, aquaculturists, students, professors, and commercial and recreational fishermen of South Carolina. The organization meets annually to discuss topics related to the various fisheries of South Carolina.

The Jack Bayless Award was created in honor of Jack W. Bayless, to recognize the best South Carolina professional presentation/paper given at each annual South Carolina chapter meeting of the American Fisheries Society organization. Each year, judges evaluate presentations in the following categories:

Presenters are scored on a scale of one to four, four being excellent, for each category. The presenter with the highest total score receives the award.

This is Scott’s second Jack Bayless Award, as he was previously awarded the 2000 Jack Bayless Award for his presentation entitled, “Swim Bladder Deflation and Release Mortality of Reef Fishes,” presented at the 1999 annual joint meeting held in Charleston.
More News