** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

#07-122 April 30, 2007

Harry Hampton Wildlife Fund awards 2007 scholarships

The Harry Hampton Memorial Wildlife Fund Inc. has announced its 2007-2008 scholarship recipients. The scholarships are awarded annually to South Carolina resident students who attend institutions of higher learning in the state. Applicants must meet specific criteria to qualify. Since 1992, the Hampton Fund has awarded more than $257,750 to deserving Palmetto State students.

The Harry Hampton Memorial Wildlife Fund Inc. is a private, non-profit corporation which partners with the S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) for the promotion of education, research, management and the administration of game and fish laws, which benefit the conservation of wildlife, marine and other natural resources in South Carolina. Funds are obtained solely through private donations and special promotional projects and events. The Hampton Fund has awarded more than $2 million to DNR over the years. Although some funds are donated to special projects run by the DNR, none are used to replace department programs supported by state appropriated money.

For more information on the Harry Hampton Memorial Wildlife Fund and its scholarship program, mail inquiries to PO Box 2641, Columbia, SC. 29202.

The Harry Hampton Fund Scholarship, $2,500 for four years, was awarded to Krutika Mediwala ofKrutika Mediwala Anderson. Mediwala, a Westside High School student, will attend Clemson University and will major in genetics with a minor in wildlife conservation.

Ebony Gailliard of St. Stephen, a Timberland High School student, won the Wallace F. Pate Scholarship and will attend the University of South Carolina, majoring in biology. The Pate scholarship is a one-year award of $1,500 and is named for the late Wallace F. Pate, a pioneer among offshore anglers in S.C. The Pate Scholarship is co-sponsored by the S.C. Governor’s Cup Billfishing Series, a program of the DNR.

The recipient of the James O. Thomason Scholarship, $1,000 for four years, is Melanie Griffin of North Augusta. Griffin is a student of North Augusta High School and will attend the University of South Carolina. She will major in print journalism. The scholarship is named for James O. Thomason, a longtime member and past chairman of the Hampton Fund’s Board of Directors.

The Hampton Fund’s R.M. Gifford Scholarship winner is Gerald Bruce Leverich of Myrtle Beach. Leverich will attend the College of Charleston and major in Marine Biology. The scholarship is named for R.M. “Bobby” Gifford, longtime chief of DNR Law Enforcement. The Gifford Scholarship consists of $1,000 per year for four years, and only dependents of DNR employees are eligible.

A new scholarship is being given in 2007 in cooperation with the S.C. Wildlife Law Enforcement Officers Association and is also named in memory of Bobby Gifford. It is a one-time award of $1,000 and is titled the R.M. Gifford-SCWLEOA Memorial Scholarship. The first recipient is Christopher Gravely of Pickens, who will attend Tri-County Technical College. Only dependents of DNR employees are eligible.

The Hampton Fund is named for the late Harry R.E. Hampton, recognized by many as the state’s first true conservationist. Hampton was responsible for helping organize the S.C. Wildlife Federation and served as its president. His tenacious efforts resulted in the formation of the S.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, which ultimately became the DNR, and he is considered responsible for establishing the Congaree Swamp National Monument, now a national park.
More News