** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

#06-324 November 27, 2006  

State Environmental Award nominations being sought

The state of South Carolina is seeking nominations for an award to recognize individuals who are doing extraordinary work for the natural environment.

The S.C. General Assembly established the S.C. Environmental Awareness Award, now in its 15th year, during the 1992 legislative session to recognize outstanding contributions made toward the protection, conservation and improvement of South Carolina’s natural resources.

Nominations will be accepted through Dec. 15. Nomination guidelines and forms are available by contacting Judy Barnes at (803) 734-4306, e-mail: barnesj@dnr.sc.gov.

Each year the public is invited to submit nominations that are then reviewed by an awards committee, which includes representatives from the state’s environmental and natural resource agencies.  In judging nominees, the committee considers excellence in innovation, leadership and accomplishments that influence positive changes affecting the natural environment. The governor traditionally presents this award.

Members of the awards committee represent the S.C. Department of Natural Resources, S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control, S.C. Forestry Commission and S.C. Sea Grant Consortium.

Previous award winners include:

2004 - John L. Knott, Jr., owner of the Noisette Company in North Charleston
2001 - James D. Elliott, Jr., founder, South Carolina Center for Birds of Prey
1998 - Yancey A. McLeod, Jr., environmental educator, Eastover
1996 - Beaufort County Clean Water Task Force
1994 - Marion Burnside, chairman, S.C. Department of Natural Resources
1992 - Rudy Mancke, S.C. Educational Television

More News