South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Marine Resources Division

Summary of Charter Fishing Laws

2016-2017
This document should be kept on board all charter vessels as a legal reference, not to supersede
knowledge of the pertinent laws. Complete laws can be found at www.scstatehouse.gov.

License Requirements: [Section 50-9-540 (D)]

6 or Fewer Passengers $150.00
7-49 Passengers $250.00
More than 50 Passengers $350.00

* USCG Credentials must be presented to obtain license *

Definitions:
“Charter Fishing Vessel” means a vessel used to transport recreational saltwater fishermen for hire and
includes charter, party and head boats. [Section 50-5-15 (10)]

Recreational saltwater fishing licenses; fees.
For the privilege of operating a charter fishing vessel in the salt waters of this State, the owner or operator
must purchase an annual charter vessel license for each vessel for the following fee to:
(1) Carry six or fewer passengers, $150
(2) Carry seven to 49 passengers, $250
(3) Carry 50 or more passengers, $350
[Section 50-9-560 (C)]

Charter fishing vessel and public pier logs; penalties.

Charter fishing vessels shall maintain a log of the number of persons carried each trip, number of hours
engaged in fishing, number of fish by species caught each day, and other information considered necessary by
the Department. The logs must be submitted to the Department monthly by the tenth day of the following
month.

A person licensed to operate a charter fishing vessel who fails to maintain or submit a log as required is guilty
of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not less than twenty-five dollars nor more than five
hundred dollars, or imprisoned for not more than thirty days, and a subsequent charter fishing vessel license
must not be issued until the requirements of this subsection are met. [Section 50-5-1915 (A)]

Federal law requires that any operator of a for-hire vessel must have a valid U.S. Coast Guard issued Captain’s
License (appropriate for the specific number of passengers/tonnage). A copy of the captain’s United States
Coast Guard credentials must be furnished to the Department for verification purposes.

* If you no longer need your license please be sure to surrender it to the Commercial License office in
Charleston (PO Box 12559 Charleston, SC 29422). If you have questions about surrendering your
license please call (843) 953-9311.



Charter Vessel Logs

South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Reporting Requirements: [Section 50-5-1915]
1) Alllicensed charter vessels must submit daily trip reports to the Marine Resources Division’s Fisheries Statistics
Program, P.O. Box 12559, Charleston, SC 29422-2559 on a MONTHLY basis for all trips taken during the month.

2) Reports must be received by the 10th of the following month regardless of whether or not fish were caught. If
no trips were made during the month, a single report must be submitted with “No Business For The Month Of
(month)” printed on the middle of a report form.

3) Reports should be complete and accurate. This data is utilized by the Department for compiling federally
mandated fishery compliance reports and serves as a data source used in the management of the State’s marine
resources.

4) Charterboat logbooks (with more detailed instructions) can be picked up from Room 215 in the Administrative
Building at the Marine Resources Center on James Island, or can be mailed to license holders. For further
information or questions, please call the Fisheries Statistics Program at 843-953-9313.

5) Charterboat logbooks are now available online. This electronic reporting tool will allow licensed charter vessel
operators to report the required trip-level catch and effort data electronically in place of the current paper
logbook. The electronic reporting tool collects the same data fields for catch and effort information as seen on
the SCDNR paper logbook form. For further information or questions, please call the Charterboat Logbook
Coordinator at 843-953-0119.

Charter Vessel Licenses

State licensed charter vessels who fish for federally managed species in the EEZ must obtain the appropriate

permit for the fishery or fisheries in which they are engaged.

For HMS and Tuna charter/headboat permits contact NMFS Permit shop at (888)872-8862
or https://hmspermit.noaa.gov

For Dolphin Wahoo, Snapper Grouper, or Coastal Migratory Pelagics charter/headboat permits contact
NMFS Southeast Regional Permit Office at (877) 376-4877 or http://sero.nmfs.noaa.gov

If you are convicted for an offense, there may be points assessed against your license or your privileges may
be suspended if the statute requires it. Saltwater points are assessed in two categories: Recreational and
Commercial. Upon an accumulation of eighteen (18) or more points in a category, the privileges of that
category will be suspended for one year. While under Recreational Suspension, a person found guilty of a
commercial saltwater violation will have all saltwater privileges suspended for one year. While under
Commercial Suspension, a person found guilty of a recreational violation will have all saltwater privileges
suspended for one year. Points and violations can be found in the SC DNR Rules and Regulations book or SC
Code of Laws 50-5-2500(A).

If your license/ permit is suspended or revoked, you are entitled to an administrative appeal pursuant to the
South Carolina Administrative Procedures Act. The review must be scheduled by the Administrative Law Court
in accordance with the division's procedural rules. The scope of the hearing is limited to the issues set out by
the Administrative Procedures Act and the division's procedural rules. Appeals must be filed and served
within 30 days of suspension/ revocation notice with the Clerk of Court of Administrative Law Court 1205
Pendleton Street Suite 224 Columbia, SC 29201, telephone (803)734-0660.


http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/Linkpages/permits.htm
http://sero.nmfs.noaa.gov/

Federal Permitting Requirements for Charter/Headboat Operators

Disclaimer: This document is for general informational purposes only. For specific permitting information, or to apply
for a permit, contact the respective federal agency listed below.

Offices of the National Marine Fisheries Service:

SERO=National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) Southeast Regional Office, Authority for species from NC through Florida
and the Gulf of Mexico

NMFS Southeast Regional (SERO) Permit Office

(727) 824-5326 or (877) 376-4877

https://sero.nmfs.noaa.gov/permits

HMS=NMFS Highly Migratory Species Division, Authority for Sharks, tunas, swordfish and all billfish
Highly Migratory Species (HMS) Permit Office
(888) 872-8862
https://hmspermit.noaa.gov

Key to Permit Requirements:

Species Operator Card SERO Permit HMS Permit
with SERO Required? Required?
Required?
Dolphin X X
Wahoo X
Snapper/ Grouper
Complex*

King Mackerel
Spanish Mackerel
Cobia
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*includes snappers, groupers, amberjack, black sea bass (south), triggerfish, etc. See www.safmc.net for a complete
list of snapper/grouper complex species


https://sero.nmfs.noaa.gov/permits
https://hmspermit.noaa.gov/
http://www.safmc.net/



