2017 Inland Sweep Cleanup Sites

Please note, because of hurricane conditions, the official 2017 date is changed to October 21. However, individual cleanups may happen on various dates to be determined by the site captain. Check the cleanup sites list below and contact the site captains to verify the dates for cleanups.

Site captains and cleanup sites registered for this year's Sweep will be listed below. The list will be updated as new site captains are registered. Contact information will be listed only for those site captains who want additional help with their cleanup. Links to websites may also be presented to offer additional information.

Volunteers looking to join an existing cleanup group may contact these site captains and offer assistance.

The following list is for Inland Sweep sites. To see Coastal Sweep sites visit http://www.scseagrant.org/Content/?cid=49

County Location Name Organization Phone # E-mail Cleanup Date
Cherokee Lake Cherokee Wendy Tindall Gaffney High School 864-206-2000 wendy.tindall@cherokee1.org 9/16/2017
Cherokee Lake Thicketty Laura Turner Turner and friends 864-812-0307 laturner2008@hotmail.com 9/17/2017
Cherokee Broad River, OMVT crossing Ben McCall Boy Scout Troop 320 864-839-4613 benmccall@bellsouth.net 9/19/2017
Cherokee Broad River, OMVT crossing Tommy Bridges Cub Scout Pack 320 864-839-1356 tommybridges83@yahoo.com 9/16/2017
Clarendon Lake Marion, Taw Caw and Potato Creeks Debra/Eddie Gleaton Goat Island Boat Club 803-460-4156 debgleaton@yahoo.com 9/16/2017
Fairfield Broad River, near Peak Stuart Greeter Broad River Paddlers 803-331-7064 sgreeter77@earthlink.net 10/21/2017
Florence Lynches River boat landing at Hyw 52 Lisa Perry Keep Florence Beautiful 803-730-4949 lisaperry@keepflorencebeautiful.org 9/16/2017
Greenville Upper Saluda Rivers Melanie Ruhlman Save Our Saluda and Foothills Paddling Club 864-270-7629 paddlerma@gmail.com 10/7/2017
Greenville Reedy River Patricia Carson Friends of the Reedy River 843-276-9313 Website 9/16/2017
Hampton Lake Warren and Salkehatchie River at Hwy 601 Paula Rhodes Hampton Conservation District 803-943-2586
ext 101
paula.rhodes@sc.nacdnet.net Month of Sept.-Oct.
Lancaster Catawba River Chris Oswald Sun City Carolina Lakes Canoe and Kayak Club      
Laurens Reedy River Kim Asbury Asbury Adventures 864-766-9031 kmizell00@aol.com 9/23/2017
Lexington Congaree River Bill Stangler Congaree Riverkeeper 803-760-3357 crk@congareeriverkeeper.org 9/17/2017
Newberry Broad River, near Peak Stuart Greeter Broad River Paddlers 803-331-7064 sgreeter77@earthlink.net 10/21/2017
Oconee, Pickens Lake Jocassee Raymond Felton Friends of Jocassee 864-944-2639 rfelton@scprt.com 9/9/2017
Pickens Lake Pinnacle at Table Rock State Park Scott Stegenga South Carolina State Parks 864-878-9813 sstegenga@scprt.com 9/16/2017
Pickens Lake Keowee Ken Sandel Sandel Family      
Richland Broad River, near Peak Stuart Greeter Broad River Paddlers 803-331-7064 sgreeter77@earthlink.net 10/21/2017
Richland Cary Lake, Dent side Rachel Tustin Dent Middle School 803-727-4397 rtustin@richland2.org 9/16/2017
Richland Congaree River Bill Stangler Congaree Riverkeeper 803-760-3357 crk@congareeriverkeeper.org 9/17/2017
Richland Gills Creek, Crowson Road area Lewis Kirk Gills Creek Watershed Association 803-787-3450 gcwa@dmzgraphics.com 9/16/2017
Richland Heron Lake Henry James Edwards SCDNR Diversity Outreach 843-442-5227 edwardsh@dnr.sc.gov 9/9/2017
Richland Lower Saluda River Jaqueline Buck Keep the Midlands Beautiful 803-733-1139 info@keepthemidlandsbeautiful.org 10/21/2017
Richland Sesqui State Park lake Cindy Becker Girl Scouts      
Richland Wateree River, Hwy 378 landing Eddie Spivey Spivey and friends 803-236-7228 luckywolf.mag@gmail.com 10/21/2017
Spartanburg Lawsons Fork Creek, Cottonwood Trail Preserve Andrew Waters Spartanburg Area Conservancy, Inc 864-948-0000 andrew@spartanburgconservation.org CANCELLED
Spartanburg Lake Blalock and Lake Bowen Larry Elder Spartanburg Water 864-592-2240 lelder@spartanburgwater.org 9/16/2017
Spartanburg Fairforest Creek at Park Hills Neighborhood Don Bramblett Caldwell Brothers Park 864-590-7442 donnb185@gmail.com 9/16/2017
Spartanburg Tyger River at Tyger 10 Nature Park Ingrig Quigg Norris Tyger River Foundation & Spartanburg WQ Partners 864-949-1658 jswanson@spartanburgcounty.org 9/16/2017
Sumter Wateree River, Hwy 378 landing Eddie Spivey Spivey and friends 803-236-7228 luckywolf.mag@gmail.com 10/21/2017
York Sugar Creek Brittnay Brown Nation Ford Land Trust & Alice Springs Close Greenway 803-547-8140 nationfordlandtrust@gmail.com 9/16/2017 and 10/14/17