South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Logo Satellite imagery Data layers graphic Map of South Carolina South Carolina Department of Natural Resources South Carolina Department of Natural Resources

GIS Data Resources

Google Search

Geologic Map Data Layers

Small image of Geologic Map Data This data set is a digital version of geologic data developed by the South Carolina Geological Survey. This coverage consists of geologic map units as mapped by 7.5-Minute Quadrangle located in South Carolina. This data was created from original field work and/or compiled from existing geologic map data. The coverage was constructed by digitizing maps, compiling information onto a planimetric correct base, or revising digitized maps using remotely sensed and other information. The ACE Basin digital data was revised using 1999 DOQQ aerial photos to a scale of 1:10,000. Point and line data is also included in this data set.

The purpose of the data set is intended to assist South Carolina Geological Survey personnel in maintaining geological information for the state of South Carolina. The digital geologic map database for the quadrangle has been created as a general-purpose data set that is applicable to land-related investigations.

Geographic Coordinate System

UTM, Zone 17, Meters, Datum NAD27

Status map of available Geologic Map Data.

View Map for quadrangles available in Aiken County.
View Map for quadrangles available for southern coastal areas.

List of Topographic Quadrangles Available

Southern Coastal Area: Beaufort, Bennetts Point, Bluffton, Dale, Edisto Beach, Edisto Island, Fort Pulaski, Fripps Inlet, Frogmore, Hardeeville, Hilton Head, Jasper, Limehouse, Parris Island, Port Wentwork, Pritchardville, Rincon, Rockville, Saint Helena Sound, Saint Phillips Island, Savannah, Spring Island, Tybee Island North, and Wiggins.
Aiken County: Aiken, Aiken NW, Augusta East, Batesburg, Foxtown, Girard NW, Graniteville, Harley's Millpond, Hollow Creek, Jackson, Mechanic Hill, Monetta, New Ellenton, New Ellenton SE, New Ellenton SW, North Augusta, Oakwood, Pond Branch, Ridge Spring, Shell Bluff Landing, Steedman, Trenton, Williston, and Windsor.

Download Available Geologic Map Data

Data is available for download at no cost from DNR's GIS Data Clearinghouse. Refer to DNR GIS DNR Clearinghouse for availability.

South Carolina Department of Natural Resources - Phone Numbers | Accessibility
Rembert C. Dennis Building, 1000 Assembly Street, Columbia, SC 29201
© 2009 All rights reserved.